Soft fonts and icons on 4K UHD display with UE v16.30 (solved)

Soft fonts and icons on 4K UHD display with UE v16.30 (solved)

NewbieNewbie

Nov 28, 2017#1

Hi,

I am using UE 16.30 and just upgraded to a large display. All windows are crisp and nice, except for UltraEdit where the fonts in the main window and also the menus labels and icons are soft and blurry. I am attaching a partial screenshot showing how crisp the fonts are in Sublime vs the blurry soft fonts in UE. I am using 150% magnification in Windows so it seems that UE simply blows up the fonts rather than using a larger font. This is a deal breaker. How can I fix this? 
    Thanks
    Sublime_vs_Ultraedit.jpg (150.71KiB)

Power UserPower User

Nov 28, 2017#2

I have been using a 4K display for more than 4 years. However, I use a 50in TV as my monitor and don't have to use magnification. When you select 150% magnification in Windows it does just that, magnifies. Your version of UltraEdit is old and not aware of high resolution screens. Newer versions work better but the act of magnification will still be a problem with the display of the main body. Menus and icons are not affected as much. You can perform some sharpening by moving to a font that is sans serif and not True Type but you won't get a perfectly clean image. Windows has to make some decisions when converting 1x1 pixel (100%) to 1.5x1.5 (150%) which is roughly going to result in a 2x2 square but the values of the pixels in it are calculated and the results are iffy. If you changed to 200% the result is 2x2 but all pixel values are set and known. But doing that is the same as if you had pixels that were 4x as big and reduces your apparent resolution from 3840x2160 to 1920x1080.  

NewbieNewbie

Nov 28, 2017#3