SQL & PL/SQL code folding with semicolon

SQL & PL/SQL code folding with semicolon

Jun 16, 2022#1

Hello everyone,

I am an Oracle database admin and developer. So, I code a lot in SQL and PL/SQL. I believe what I am about to ask is valid for any SQL developer. I have read many topics in the forums and documentation. Also, talked to support for few times.

Current UE version I use is 26.10.0.72

My problem is folding with SQL & PL/SQL. UltraEdit code folding tags Open Fold Strings and Close Fold Strings are not defined in pairs as I learned. Whatever I wrote in Open Fold Strings can be fold with any Close Fold Strings tag. These are my folding strings:

Code: Select all

/Open Fold Strings = "{Start}" "begin" "if" "loop" "case" "else" "elsif"
    /Close Fold Strings = "{Stop}" "end;" "end if;" "End Loop;" "end case;" "else" "elsif"
    Here is a sample PL/SQL pseudo code, has no meaning and may have some minor errors, but is enough to explain my issues:

Create or replace function sf_test(p number) as
      x1 number;
      x2 number;

cursor c is
        select *
        from   employees
        where  department_id = 50
          and  salary > 4000
          and  manager_id <> 120;
    begin

x1 := p;

for i in 1..10 loop 

Select salary
        into   x2
        from   employees
        where  hire_date < sysdate -10
          and  department_id in (10,20)
          and  manager_id is not null
          and  first_name = 'Mustafa'
          and  last_name  = 'Kal';

if x1 > x2 then
          dbms_output.put_line('error');
        elsif x1 = x2 then 
          dbms_output.put_line('interesting');
        else
          dbms_output.put_line('wow');
        end if;

end loop; 

end sf_test;
    Here are my issues: