NewbieNewbie

Sep 29, 2004#16

I also agree, the only reason im using windows is because theres no good editor like ultraedit for linux/freebsd. I would be running linux on my desktop if it was natively compiled. I would even pay more for it to help support getting it done.

NewbieNewbie

Sep 30, 2004#17

Hey Ian,

I'd like to get your attention on this issue and give you some food for thought. I'm a Linux based professional. I am willing to pay 2x the MS version price for a Linux based version of UE.

For that price (per user or seat), I would want to be able to deploy it into my site via auto/jump/kickstart on all the machines I administer and develop upon.

I firmly believe the maturity of the Linux market is sufficient for your business model to seriously consider a platform agnostic release that would blow wide open your potential market appeal.

Certain questions come to mind when pondering a Linux release:

1. Should you provide a terminal (curses, s-lang, etc) based version that doesn't require a windowing environment...ala Joe, JED, and VIM?
      2. Will you want to integrate in with existing development tools?
      3. What are the key elements in the MS version that have the Linux community drooling?
      4. Should you attempt a port or ramp up a UE clone?
      5. Is it possible to leverage existing OSS and significantly fork off a project with your own key code?
      6. Are you willing to release source if you enter the Linux market?
      7. Can you deterministically release a Linux version with the same eye for exceptional quality and support that you have built for MS UE?

So far this has focused on UE...but I believe UC has equal potential.