Why is alert("...") not working in an UltraEdit script?

Why is alert("...") not working in an UltraEdit script?

NewbieNewbie

Mar 14, 2018#1

Hi, everyone,

I'm a very new coder and user to UltraEdit; I'm wondering if someone could help, please.
    I cannot seem to get a simple alert window to appear when I run my scripts; it seems to be okay with other editors such as TextWrangler and Komodo, so I was wondering why it doesn't on UltraEdit.

Just a simple code such as

alert("Hello");

will activate a pop-up normally, but not with UltraEdit.
    It might be worth mentioning I'm only using the trial version right now with a view to purchasing, but perhaps it is enabled in the licensed version. 
    Any help would be most appreciated. Many thanks,

Graham

Grand MasterGrand Master

Mar 15, 2018#2

The function alert is not part of JavaScript core. It is an application specific extension which browsers have and also some text editors with support for JavaScript. JavaScript core has no support for functions which depend on operating system like showing a message box.

UltraEdit has:

Code: Select all

UltraEdit.messageBox("Message to show in a message box.");
      UltraEdit.messageBox("Message to show in a message box.\n\nOne more line after an empty line.","Title of message box");
      Further there are:

Code: Select all

UltraEdit.getString("Please enter string written into file:",0);
      var sInput = UltraEdit.getString("Please enter string assigned to variable:",1);
      UltraEdit.getValue("Please enter positive integer number written to file:",0);
      var nNumber = UltraEdit.getValue("Please enter positive integer number assigned to variable:",1);
      UltraEdit.outputWindow.clear();           // Clear output window.
      UltraEdit.outputWindow.write("Message written into output window.");
      UltraEdit.outputWindow.showWindow(true);  // Make output window visible if currently hidden.